Oliva Serie V Double Robusto

  • Price per stick: £11.50
  • Ring Gauge: 54
  • Length: 5″
  • County of Origin: Nicaragua

Image

First appearances of this cigar are that’s its an obviously a very rich and oily wrapper, and it smells great.  Accompanied by the Oliva Series V band I already knew I’d be in for a great smoke! I decided to go for this as I had a great experience with the Nub range made by the Oliva family.

The cutting was surprisingly hard and somewhat dry as well which was disconcerting as the stick had only been out of the humidor for about 5 minutes.  I lit with three matches before the cut.

The first couple of draws were extremely pleasant and noticeably richer than the Nub range by Oliva.  I was getting the usual rich cigar flavours such as un-sweetened coffee and chocolate.  There was a peppery aftertaste that lasted for about 1-2 mins.  After about an inch of smoking I was getting something I’d never had before, marzipan!  I knew this was special and it was a fantastic smoke.

Image

The point at which the marzipan notes really started to appear.

The harshness/bitterness started reasonably early with this cigar which was disappointing, about 1/2 way down or so.  Nevertheless it was a fantastic smoke which lasted approximately 50 minutes.  There were also slight burning issues in which the core of the cigar burned slightly faster than the outside, creating ‘spikes’ in the wrapper part of the cigar, which were uneven to the main burn line.

Image

Overall I would definitely buy again and so far I’m very impressed with the produce of the Oliva family!

Overall Score:

  • Looks/Feel: 9/10
  • Smell before burn: 8/10
  • Burn: 7/10
  • Taste of smoke: 15/20

Overall: 39/50

Leave a Reply

